Fellowships & Grants

News & Information

AISLS Colombo Center





The American Institute for Sri Lankan Studies (AISLS) was established in 1996. Its two central objectives are to promote US research and teaching on Sri Lanka and to build mutually beneficial links between US and Sri Lankan scholars and institutions. The Institute also serves as the professional association for US scholars and other professionals who are interested in Sri Lanka.

President: Charles Hallisey, challisey at hds.harvard.edu

United States Director: John Rogers, rogersjohnd at aol.com

Executive Director, Colombo Center: Ira Unamboowe, aisls at sltnet.lk

AISLS is a member of the Council of American Overseas Research Centers (CAORC). Founded in 1981, CAORC is a private not-for-profit federation of 24 independent overseas research centers that promote advanced research, particularly in the humanities and social sciences, with focus on the conservation and recording of cultural heritage and the understanding and interpretation of modern societies.

Fellowships and Grants
AISLS fellowships support two to nine months of research in Sri Lanka by US citizens who already hold a PhD or the equivalent at the time they begin their fellowship tenure. Both scholars with little or no experience in Sri Lanka as well as specialists are encouraged to apply for a fellowship. AISLS also offers smaller grants for predissertation study in Sri Lanka, for language instruction in Sri Lanka, and for graduate student attendance at conferences. Most AISLS awards are funded by grants from the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs at the US State Department.

Support for Research in Sri Lanka
The AISLS center in Sri Lanka sponsors activities that promote collaboration between visiting US scholars and Sri Lankans, including a workshop program. AISLS also has a library that concentrates on new scholarly publications and on a broad range of reference materials. Its catalog is included in the Digital Library for International Research.

Support for Sri Lankan Studies in the United States
AISLS promotes collaboration and the flow of information among US-based scholars and professionals interested in Sri Lanka. It operates a closed listserve that enables its members to exchange information and make contacts for conference panels. It also sponsors periodic workshops that bring together scholars interested in a particular theme. The AISLS center in Sri Lanka also supplies AISLS members with copies of research materials not available in the United States. AISLS holds its annual general meeting at the Annual Conference on South Asia, which takes place each October in Madison, Wisconsin.

Preservation and Dissemination of Research Information and Materials
At present, AISLS maintains a Directory of Reseach Centers in Sri Lanka and supports the provision of information to the International Directory of South Asia Scholars. The AISLS is also developing programs to preserve and disseminate important research materials.

- Back to top -

Board of Directors
(Term expiration is noted in parentheses.)

 Charles Hallisey  (2016)
 challisey at hds.harvard.edu
 Harvard University
 Jonathan Spencer  (2016)
 Edinburgh University
 Daniel Bass   (2016)
 dbass at ccsu.edu
 Central Connecticut State University
 Christina Davis  (2015)
  c-davis at wiu.edu
  Western Illinois University
Past President
 Jeanne Marecek  (2016)
 jmarece1 at swarthmore.edu
 Swarthmore College
Elected Directors
Michele Gamburd  (2016)
 Portland State University
Arjun Guneratne  (2014)
  Macalester College
Sujatha Meegama  (2014)
  Nanyang Technological University
Sharika Thiranagama  (2016)
  Stanford University
Mark Whitaker   (2014)
  University of Kentucky
Deborah Winslow   (2014)
  National Science Foundation

Institutional Members and Appointed Representatives

Brandeis University
 Laurence Simon
Colgate University
 John Ross Carter
Columbia University
 Valentine Daniel
Cornell University
 Anne Blackburn
Duke University
 Sumathi Ramaswamy
Five Colleges Buddhist Studies Consortium
 Maria Heim
Harvard University
 Charles Hallisey
The ISLE Consortium
 Sree Padma Holt
Johns Hopkins University
 Anand Pandian
Miami University
 Nalin Jayasena
Northwestern University
 George Bond
Princeton University
 Bhavani Raman
Stanford University
 Thomas Hansen
University of California--Berkeley
 Sanchita Saxena
University of Chicago
 Sascha Ebeling
University of Michigan
 Farina Mir
University of Pennsylvania
 Daud Ali
University of Texas--Austin
 Kamran Asdar Ali
University of Virginia
 Geeta Patel
University of Washington
 Keith Snodgrass
University of Wisconsin-Madison
 Sumudu Atapattu
Wake Forest University
 Neil DeVotta
Yale University
 K. Sivaramakrishnan

Listserve Director
Michele Gamburd
  Portland State University

Resident Agent
Caitrin Lynch

Created by the Boston Web Company